Awards of Excellence

2023 OPRA Governor's Award Winner - Metroparks Toledo

The OPRA Annual Awards of Excellence recognize organizations throughout Ohio that embody the vision, dedication, and demonstration of excellence in parks and recreation.  These awards highlight the efforts of those organizations that transcend everyday standards to make a difference and improve the quality of life in our Ohio communities.

Submission Forms will be available this summer! But first, check out the 2024 Awards Brochure to view the categories, find out what information you need to submit, and discover how your department can score a FREE awards submission.

Some helpful hints before you submit!

  • Prepare your narrative before you access the form to submit your award online. Use the handy templates to create your narrative then simply copy and paste it into the online form.  The narrative criteria is taken directly from the judging rubric.
  • Create a folder on your desktop for each award you’re submitting to house any and all PDF and JPEG supporting documents. All supporting documents are due at the time of submission.  You may not make edits to any part of your application or add additional supporting documents once the awards application has been submitted.
  • You may submit up to 10 images files, 5 PDFs, and 5 hyperlinks with each submission.  Please note that you must submit at least one image file with each submission.  See brochure for complete rules and requirements.
  • Each department that purchases a Group Membership Package receives a FREE awards submission.  The discount will be applied to the first submission received.  Cost is $60 per entry for projects; leadership awards are free.

Remember, only projects, programs, and events completed between October 1, 2023 and September 30, 2024 are eligible for submission and are not permitted to be entered two years in a row.  Deadline to make a submission is October 16, 2024.

2024 Awards Brochure

Important Dates
Submission Deadline

(Narrative and Supporting Documents)
October 16 @ 11:59pm

Awards Judging (Virtual)
November 7 @ 10

Awards Announcement
Week of November 18

Make Your Submission
Project, Program, and Events
Leadership Awards

2024 Project, Program, and Event Award Template
2024 Leadership Awards Template
2024 Hall of Fame Award Template

Other Information
Judges Rubric
2023 Winners
Past Leadership/Governor's Award Winners
Harvey Woods Information

Darcy Baxter
(614) 583-5300
Kevin Swanson
(937) 335-6273
(614) 895-2222